School/Shkooluw

There’s the whistle…train’s about to leave. I am glad I said my goodbyes when we got together for the family photo. It was kind of odd, the three of us haven’t been together since school. 

You see, there was a big school built close to my house, called Mt. Elgin.It is were most kids went, some for the day and others had to live there. My dad, Scobia, always believed in school. He thought it was a place to learn new ways, a new language and learn about the world. Our house was hectic growing up. My mom, Isabelle had epilepsy pretty bad and had to live in a hospital full time. In order to pay the bills, my dad had to work many jobs in order to put food on the table. My sister told me that when she was younger, grandpa Henry used to look after the children. 

Anyways, my dad put all of us in school when we were old enough to attend. We didn’t have to live there,we only went during the day. I can tell you that most of the day was spent working in the fields and barn. It was hard work and the adults were strict. You had to speak English all the time which wasn’t a problem for me. My dad was fluent and taught all of us kids. My friends found it hard, they spoke the old language and were punished if they used it.

We only went to class for a couple of hours a day. My dad made it sound like we would learn alot but I disagree. In our classroom there was a huge map of the British Empire. I remember studying the map, learning place names that sounded so strange. All I could think of is, one day, I will get to travel to different parts of this world.

Mt Elgin wasn’t a great place to learn. Most of the time was how much the adults would make you do using your strength as opposed to using your brain. I could go on about my school days and to tell you I was glad to quit that place three years ago. They let you out when you get to a certain age or you find work. 

Last whistle…that’s the signal. Everyone is getting one last hug and kiss. I will write soon. 

Munsee Translation

Yoon ha pootaatiikanush, nzukasunaanay kehteexiin. Nii nuwuleelundam wuliilaweemeew muniixiinook kteekhiikeew laawate  shkooluw.

Kii kneew, yooh ha shkooluw peexuwat wiikuuyaan Mt Elgin. Weemu mawii wuniichaanow. Nii noox, Scobia, wulustam nuskii lakehkiimeew, shihshuwanakow, waak kweek Canada. Nii nuwiikuuyaan wtamalohkeew. Nii nguk wihwchiipiisow wulaapasihkan. Nii noox ktohpalohkeew miichuwaakan. Nii nuwiitkoxkw kchihlatoow numoxoomus Henry lxaweelumeew.

Aloot, nii noox ngaleew Mt Elgin.  Niiloona nootiikeewihna kiishkwehk. Niiloona nahwalohkeew ahkiihaakan, pakahiikan waak kooyiikaan. Kihkuwillunow waak Kihkwu-oxkweew manoongeelundam. Weemu sakii shihshuwanakow. Nii noox wulustam shihshuwanakow. Nii njoosumak huluniixsuwakaan nihleew.

Niiloona nakehkiimeewihna niishwak kulakow. Yoon ha pambiil eenglush tali waak maashihtaakwat shiinsowak. Nii numooxweew mayat kiishkwehk.

Mt Elgin machii wunj shkooluw. Weemu nahwalohkeew mah moxkaweew wulateexun. Nii nooleelundam wunj pohkwalohkeew nxah katun. Nii niishiixtookw.

Potaatiikanush, kihkheew, Weemu aween kihkoxkweeneew waak waangoomeew. Nii nuleekham laawate. 

Leave a comment